Mental pressure….

Every time my fingers dance across the pages of an ‘O’ magazine, I immediately go Martha Beck’s piece. I absolutely appreciate and adore the ways she proves you may not be living to your full mental potential and just how you can fix it. I have battled people and issues that affected my mental space. I didn’t go crazy or act out but the way I handle things have not always been orthodox. I say this to say, forgiveness is key when grooming your mental health. Of yourself and others that have wronged you, it is vital in getting yourself to that feel good place and allowing yourself to stay there. Sticking it to someone is a temporary solution but once the dust settles, you will find yourself embarrassed for dealing with that person the way you did. A lot of advice talks about expressing your feelings and talking things out with people, this isn’t always possible, as humans are very sensitive and quick to lie.

In my lifetime, I have stuck to the reserved side of things. Holding my opinion of others to myself and spitefully not IMG_20150613_205238letting people know just what I think of them, I however have been excellent at showing them. I think this is key, as
people hear what they want to hear and will mince your words and make you out to be a tyrant. Physically bridge the gap between what you think and feel and what you want others to know. In many cases, less words is more and you will begin to see just how people hear and absorb things. I have been known to be a despot over my life. I do what I
want when I want and I never apologize for it. I will not sacrifice my comfort for anyone or anything and I try to not make promises I am unable to keep. I directly decline invitations and keep the in and out of faces into my consciousness to a minimum. You will not win me, but I will do so respectfully.  I don’t ever show boat or gloat nor do I advertise my life as grand. I let others make and stick to their assumptions of me because it’s a much simpler life. I would be the one to lay down and let you by instead of standing in your way and I try to never give unsolicited advice.

The worrying part is; others. Ageism is a crime against humanity that cannot fizzle. It holds us back in so many ways, but people don’t realise it. It is a silent killer. It is also the reason a lot of families break apart or have a hard time coming to fold. Older generations put down the younger generation or try to control them to oblivion. Then, when left to their own vices the younger generation is so weak and thinning. There is also complaint of a lack of moral fibre. Then, you throw a young married couple in the mix of things and you have terrible ego wars. No one willing to let humility win. Eventually though, you will learn to let each other be. The wars aren’t worth it and will definitely disturb your mental clarity. Semblance brought you together and once accepted, will bring you to your knees;  because we are more alike than we think.

Leave a Reply

